Twenty Station Members from Across the State Selected for HPR's First Community Advisory Board

Jan 27, 2017

Hawai‘i Public Radio is pleased to announce that 20 station members have been elected to its new Community Advisory Board (CAB). The CAB represents the diversity of HPR’s statewide membership and serves in an adjunct (non-fiduciary) capacity to the nonprofit’s existing Board of Directors. The role of the CAB is to represent the community in providing feedback to the station on its programming and outreach opportunities.

The 20 Community Advisory Board members (listed below) were selected from more than 160 nominations solicited through the station's communications and airwaves this past fall. Four are from Hawai‘i island, three from Maui, two from Kaua‘i, one from Moloka‘i, and the remainder from O‘ahu. CAB appointees will normally serve a two-year term, although an initial class of ten will serve for three years, in order to provide a smooth transition in 2019.

The CAB is chaired by HPR Director Alan T. Yamamoto. Their first meeting will take place on February 8, 2017.

HPR Community Advisory Board Class of 2019:
Dr. Bill Caldwell, Kapaʻa, Kauaʻi
Gabriella Cooper, Kailua-Kona, Hawaiʻi island
Joel Edelman, Makawao, Maui
Clair Iveson, Kaunakakai, Molokaʻi
Miki Lee, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Rick Peterson, Kailua, Oʻahu
Peter Rosegg, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Joseph Uno, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Scarlet Wells, Kahului, Maui
Jana Wolff, Honolulu, Oʻahu

HPR Community Advisory Board Class of 2020:
Wayne Akiyama, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Nancy J. Budd, Līhuʻe, Kauaʻi
Andrea D. Christensen, Volcano, Hawaiʻi island
Hal Glatzer, Hilo, Hawaiʻi island
Rachel James, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Lisa Maruyama, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Bennette Espineli Misalucha, ʻAiea, Oʻahu
David G. Okumura, Kailua-Kona, Hawaiʻi island
Mark Tarone, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Fiona K. van Ammers, Wailuku, Maui

Find the complete list of HPR's Board of Directors here. The CAB is also listed here.

Read original press release here.