HPR Announces CAB Board Chair Transition

Nov 25, 2019

Hawai‘i Public Radio is pleased to announce leadership changes in its Community Advisory Board (CAB). The CAB welcomes its new chair, Nancy Budd of Līhuʻe, Kaua‘i. Budd began a three-year CAB term in 2017. In her role as CAB Chair, Budd will also hold an ex-officio seat on HPR's Board of Directors. Joseph Uno of Honolulu recently completed his term as CAB Chair, and has been elected to a newly added seat on HPR's Board of Directors.  

The station also gratefully acknowledges the outgoing CAB class of 2020:

Wayne Akiyama, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Andrea D. Christensen, Volcano, Hawaiʻi island
Hal Glatzer, Hilo, Hawaiʻi island
Rachel James, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Lisa Maruyama, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Bennette Espineli Misalucha, ʻAiea, Oʻahu
David G. Okumura, Kailua-Kona, Hawaiʻi island
Mark Tarone, Honolulu, Oʻahu
Fiona K. van Ammers, Wailuku, Maui 

The CAB represents the diversity of HPR’s statewide membership and serves in an adjunct (non-fiduciary) capacity to the nonprofit’s existing Board of Directors. The role of the CAB is to represent the community in providing feedback to the station on its programming and outreach opportunities. More about the CAB

The CAB is also currently seeking nominations for its next advisory cohort. CAB members serve a two-year term and meet quarterly (in-person and/or via teleconference) to provide input to HPR. Neighbor Island listeners are especially encouraged to apply. Deadline is December 13; application is online: http://bit.ly/HPRCAB